The choices you make

Erikjan Lantink
5 min read3 days ago

When was the last time you wondered whether you had locked the house, closed the garage, closed your car, brought your phone, etc?

When was the last time you went back to check, only to find out that you did what you were expected to do?

I can’t count the number of times I drove back to check whether I had closed the garage. I never left it open; I just didn’t trust myself 100%, and I realized every time that I was absent-minded when I closed it.

I closed the garage as a routine procedure but wasn’t aware I was consciously doing it.

At some point, I got annoyed with always driving back, so I trained myself to say out loud that I was closing the garage and the gate. My kids thought I had become nuts talking out loud.

Stupid stuff like this always happens (not the talking out loud). We’re somewhere else with our thoughts while performing other tasks perfectly.

You may call this multitasking because you are performing multiple tasks simultaneously. I pressed the garage’s remote button while driving the car back out. The focus is on driving the car out while unconsciously performing another task.

Job done!

--

--

Erikjan Lantink

Business & Leadership coach. Interim Leader. Writer. Speaker. Former Retail Executive (general management; operations; HR)