Get off the dance floor.

Erikjan Lantink
5 min readMay 10, 2024

I worked for a boss who loved to dance. Every time we had a company meeting, and there was an opportunity to dance, he would dance — from the very first tune to the very last tune. When you needed to talk to him about something, you could forget it when he was dancing. He was simply not available. He was in a trance, in flow.

I am not much of a dancer. My movements are clumsy and do not always follow the rhythm of the beat. Apparently, I was not born with a talent for dancing.

Some people claim that everyone has a talent for artistic expression, such as dancing, singing, or playing an instrument.

Their claim is that we, human beings, limit ourselves very early on in our lives in the way we use our bodies and our voices. Add on the protective and often limiting feedback we get from our caretakers, and another talent is lost.

I grew up in a culture that was not very expressive. Act normal, that’s already wild enough, was one of the mantras in my culture. Moving to the Czech Republic did not help me grow my expressive side either. Those were the nineties. Lots has changed since.

There’s much to be grateful for due to my move, but encouraging my expressive side is not one of them. Communism encouraged sameness and…

--

--

Erikjan Lantink

Business & Leadership coach. Interim Leader. Writer. Speaker. Former Retail Executive (general management; operations; HR)