Energize or die

Erikjan Lantink
5 min readOct 11, 2024
Credit: yaom

My smartwatch has a body battery. At the time of writing this, 5.11 pm, my battery is at 54 out of 100. Since midnight, I’ve gained 4 and drained 29. This is not a huge surprise, given that I worked most of the weekend, enjoyed some nice dinners and a few glasses with them, and drove my car from Amsterdam to Prague. I am flying back to the UK this evening, and I pray that my EasyJet plane will be on time.

Amidst this whirlwind, I’ve come to realize again the crucial role of managing my energy and how it directly correlates to business performance. This Insight will empower leaders like you to invest in your team’s energy and culture for better performance.

Managing my energy matters.

When I pay attention to my energy levels, I know when to rest, step it up, and change something in my daily rhythm and rituals. Performing in business is also a top sport. You need to take care of yourself.

Teams and businesses need to take care of themselves. I’ve been vocal about this before, but there’s no such thing as an unlimited reservoir of energy inside any team. You must build a sixth sense to feel when a team runs out of energy. And do something about it.

Even better, you can proactively design and build a culture that knows how to create and

--

--

Erikjan Lantink

Business & Leadership coach. Interim Leader. Writer. Speaker. Former Retail Executive (general management; operations; HR)